I’ve always lowered my gaze to watch for the change of the seasons. A farmer’s habit.

It’s by looking at the ground that I learn to recognise the first buds. To greet the spring lettuce, the tomato patch impatient to flourish. In Autumn, to rejoice at the sight of the first mushrooms, of the walnuts falling like rain from a fruit-bearing tree.

Sometimes, I cheated and let my sense of smell guide me: apples melting in a pot and I knew that soon it would be back to school, an aroma of stew meant that Winter was coming. In May, I was dying to dip my spoon in the tomato sauce that will be preserved in jars for all year.

To harvest according to the season is a self-evident fact. Because at last the harvest taste good and all the nutrients are there. Because fruits and vegetables can take their time to look and be good. Because Mother Nature is wise and the seasons well organised.

The Mille et Une Huiles jars only accommodate the harvest of the season. There lies the secret of our excellence. We don’t cheat time. So please, treat our product well. They deserve beautiful combination… With flavours of the season.

J’ai toujours baissé les yeux pour reconnaître les saisons. Une habitude paysanne…

C’est dans la terre que j’ai appris à distinguer les premiers bourgeons. À saluer au printemps une laitue naissante et un plant de tomates impatient de s’épanouir. À me réjouir, à l’automne, des premiers champignons et des noix qui tombent en pluie d’un arbre gorgé de fruits.

Je trichais parfois et laissais mon nez me guider : des pommes qui cuisaient dans le chaudron et c’était bientôt l’heure de la rentrée, les fumets de potées annonçaient l’hiver et je piaffais en mai pour tremper ma cuillère dans les sauces tomates qui garniraient des bocaux pour toute l’année.

Cueillir de saison reste, pour moi, une évidence. Parce que les récoltes ont (enfin !) du goût et tous leurs nutriments. Parce que les fruits et les légumes prennent leur temps pour s’apprêter. Parce que la nature est sage et les saisons bien ordonnées…

Dans les bocaux de Mille et Une Huiles, vous ne trouverez que des récoltes de saison. C’est notre petit secret d’excellence. Leur parfum ne triche pas. Alors, s’il vous plait, on les bichonne. Ils méritent de beaux mariages. Avec des saveurs de saison…